Academics » Advanced Placement

Advanced Placement

 

Advanced Placement Courses

 

Course

Grades Eligible

Currently being taught by...

AP English Literature and Composition

12th Grade

Xenia Thomopoulos

xenia@tywls-astoria.org

AP English Language and Composition

11th Grade

Diana Vlavianos

diana@tywls-astoria.org

AP Calculus AB

12th Grade

Caitlin McCaffrey

caitlinm@tywls-astoria.org

AP Environmental Science

11th & 12th Grades

Jonathan Ryberg

jonathan@tywls-astoria.org

AP Modern World History

10th Grade

Randi Bivona

randi@tywls-astoria.org

AP Human Geography

9th - 12th Grades

Michael Stuart

michael@tywls-astoria.org

AP Psychology

9th - 12th Grades

Scott Melcher

scott@tywls-astoria.org

AP Computer Science Principles

11th Grade*

SEP Track Students ONLY

Emily Fields

emily@tywls-astoria.org

AP United States History

11th Grade

Nick Scales

nick@tywls-astoria.org

 

Student Eligibility: All students must be on-track with all credits and have 90% or above attendance rate the year prior to applying.

Student Application Process:

Step 1: Students and parents/guardians must attend one of the special courses open house information sessions. During these sessions, families will hear more about the selection criteria for students and requirements for the application process.

Step 2: Students complete a questionnaire and request teacher recommendation letters

Step 3: Students participate in an interview with the AP Committee Panel

Step 4: Students and Families read and sign the AP Course Agreement

Step 5: Students receive acceptance or denial