Advanced Placement 
First AP Pinning Ceremony 
Welcome to Advanced Placement at The Young Women's Leadership School of Astoria. We are excited to begin this new initiative with the support of AP for All. By offering Advanced Placement courses, we are providing opportunities for our students to become college ready. 

Contact Information -

Advanced Placement Teachers :

 

Diana Vlavianos                         

AP Language and Composition

diana@tywls-astoria.org

 

Xenia Thomopolous

AP Literature and Composition

xenia@tywls-astoria.org

 

Scott Melcher

AP Psychology

scott@tywls-astoria.org

scottmelcher.weebly.com

 

Emily

AP Computer Science Principles

emily@tywls-astoria.org

Andy Jordan

Robotics

andy@tywls-astoria.org

 

 

 

Alexandria Gialaboukis

Advanced Placement Coordinator

Email: advancedplacement@tywls-astoria.org

Randi Bivona

AP World History

randi@tywls-astoria.org

 

Jonathan Ryberg

AP Environmental Science

jonathan@tywls-astoria.org

 

Michael Stuart

AP Human Geography

michael@tywls-astoria.org

 

Caitlin McCaffrey

AP Calculus

caitlinm@tywls-astoria.org

May 2019 Advanced Placement Exam Schedule

2019- 2020 School Year Application Materials and Information-

 

The first part of the application process is to attend a mandatory parent meeting. Both parent/guardian and student must attend. Here, please find the powerpoint that was reviewed during this meeting.  

 

 

 

 

Student Testimonials:

- "My experience with AP Psychology has been challenging yet rewarding."

 

- "Its great to be surround by dedicated and hardworking students."

 

- "Being in AP Psychology has been a really great experience so far! It makes me really grateful that I made the right choice by signing up for AP."

 

- "AP classes have been a breeze! My AP teachers really try their best to make sure we ease into the work and make sure that we are comfortable with the transition. It has made being part of the AP program really easy and I really enjoy the classes."

23-15 Newtown Ave

Astoria, NY 11102

Tel: 718-267-2839
Fax: 718-728-0218

Powered by

We are working to make this website easier to access for people with disabilities, and will follow the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0. If you need assistance with a particular page or document on our current site, please contact TYWLSA to request assistance.

Contact the Principal:

Contact the school:

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Principals Instagram
  • Principals Twitter